Free Skating in Robson Square

It doesn’t get overly cold in Vancouver. Most days the temperatures range from about 5 – 8 degrees Celsius. So, when I heard that there exists an outdoor rink in Vancouver – I was pretty surprised. Add to that the fact that the skating is free and I needed to check it out.

The skating rink is at Robson Square set down some steps and across from the Vancouver Art Gallery. One thing that I found pretty neat was that you’re actually skating under the road. Another luxury is that it happens to be dome-covered so you can skate outside yet still be protected from that delightful Vancouver rain. The ice was a little choppy thanks to the mild temperatures but I still got my fix.

My one regret is that we went at like 3pm on a Sunday. It’s the only outdoor rink in the city (aside from one on a pond atop Grouse Mountain – which also looks awesome!) so it was FULL of small children – which made for a sub-optimal skate. The rink is open pretty late, so maybe we’ll go back after the kiddies are in bed.

The Robson Square Ice Rink is open until February 29 so there’s still a few more weeks to check it out. Hours are 9a – 9p Sunday to Thursday and 9a – 11p on Thursdays and Fridays.

 

(I’ve caught some flack for the lack of people pictures on this blog, so here’s one of le me after our Sunday afternoon skate.)

